Curriculum for Wales

4 Purposes

The 4 purposes will be at the heart of our new curriculum.  They will be the starting point for all decisions on the content and experiences developed as part of the curriculum to support our young children to be:

  • Ambitious, capable learners ready to learn throughout their lives
  • Enterprising, creative contributors, ready to play a full part in life and work
  • Ethical, informed citizens of Wales and the world
  • Healthy, confident individuals, ready to lead fulfilling lives as valued members of society.
previous arrow
next arrow

Key Elements

The new curriculum will include:

  • 6 Areas of Learning and Experience from 3 to 16
  • Progression reference points at ages 5, 8, 11, 14 and 16
  • Achievement outcomes which describe expected achievements at each progression reference point.
  • 3 cross curriculum responsibilities: literacy, numeracy and digital competence

The curriculum will be organised into 6 Areas of Learning and Experiences (AOLE’s)

  • Expressive Arts
  • Health and Well-being
  • Humanities (including RE which should remain compulsory to age 16)
  • Languages, literacy and communication (including Welsh, which should remain compulsory to age 16, and modern foreign languages)
  • Mathematics and numeracy
  • Science and technology (including computer science)

Please click on the links below for more information: